RSS

Words are not just words…

01 Oct

Tape on MouthRepeat these basic essentials over and over to God’s people. Warn them before God against pious nitpicking, which chips away at the faith. It just wears everyone out. Concentrate on doing your best for God, work you won’t be ashamed of, laying out the truth plain and simple. Stay clear of pious talk that is only talk. Words are not mere words, you know. -2 Timothy 2:14-17

Wow.  It is storming something fierce outside.  I had this thought this morning that has totally no connection to the devotional scripture today…  Like I said, there is a terrific storm going on outside.  Thunder Lightning and a ton of rain are just outside my window, but all this commotion has almost no effect on me.  Why?  Because I am in the safety of my home.  I am 100% unaffected because of the protection I reside in.  Being a part of the Kingdom of God is kind of like this as well.  There may be storms all around you, but the Lord provides an umbrella of protection that totally shields you from the commotion.

Back to our scripture…  It sure can be easy to slip into pious talk that is mere talk.  Let this scripture remind us to have the simple truths of God’s word always on our lips and always accessible to those around us.  We should be in the business of making God “reachable” to those that encounter us.  Amen!

be blessed.

-pastorj

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 1, 2007 in Devotional Thoughts

 

Leave a comment